Surcharge is a type of fee that is charged to driver on the basis of certain traffic offenses. Drivers cannot ignore to pay this type of surcharges. Now, there is good news for the drivers of TEXAS……Now they can access complete information regarding the driving license with the click of mouse. Moreover, no need to queue up at the department of Texas Department of Public Safety to check out surcharge account or pay the surcharges….because it can be made through its official webpage (Txsurchargeonline.com). In addition to pay surcharges online, you can get complete information about how to get your driver’s license and more like discover car insurance quotes and information about your driving record. You just need to give your driving license number and date of birth in order to access your information.
The Texas Department of Public Safety is a department of the Texas State government that is accountable for statewide law enforcement and traffic regulations. The public safety department not handles one or two divisions, but it handles approximately 15 divisions like criminal investigations, administration, driver license division, emergency management, finance and other most important divisions. Now, public safety department makes the drivers work more easy and simple by giving complete information online at Txsurchargeonline.com.
The Department of Public Safety takes surcharge under its Driver Responsibility Program, which is managed by Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 708. The responsibility program determines surcharge through its two basic criteria including “Point System” and “Conviction Based” Surcharges. Surcharges are extra fees, which are not included in other reinstatement fees that are required for other administrative actions. Surcharges do not reinstate any administrative suspension, disqualification, revocation or cancellation action that outcome from these equivalent convictions.
Points Based surcharges:
Points are charged to the drivers for moving traffic violation conviction. Even, it is assigned after the conviction has been included to the driver record. Drivers can access assigned points at least three years from their record. Generally, Department of Public Safety assigns 2 points for a Texas and out-of-state moving violation conviction, and 3 points for accident related moving violation conviction.
The department of public safety does not charge surcharges for 2 or 3 points, but it charges surcharge on total of 6 points or more. For the first six points, it takes $100 surcharge, and for each additional point, it takes $25 from the driver. It reviews diver record every year and charge surcharges if they obtains six or more points in driver record. Point surcharges may change with every annual review, if convictions are added or detached from the driver record.
Conviction Based surcharges:
Compared to point based surcharges, the amount of conviction based surcharges is very big as well Texas drivers have to pay it for 3 years from the date of conviction. If the Texas drivers are convicted of DWI (driving while intoxicated) and also couple of other violations including Subsequent DWI, driving with invalid License or without license, driving without insurance, and DWI with blood alcohol concentration of 0.16 or more, then department of public safety will charge them conviction based surcharges.
The notice of the surcharges is mailed to the driver’s address, so they must inform the department in case of address changes. Drivers must pay surcharges within 30 days to prevent the deferment of driving privileges. Drivers of Texas cannot renew their license, if they have been reported to the program.
Visit Texas DPS Driver Responsibility Surcharge Online Services Site (Txsurchargeonline.com) to obtain information on your current surcharge accounts and make payments easily and quickly online. Through-out the online service, drivers can check the status of their surcharge account, order a copy of your driver record, and contact them for queries or worries regarding them.
The site is managed by OmniBase Services of Texas. It does not give information about Department of Public Safety programs as well does not solve the queries about license suspensions, or other driver license issues. Here, drivers can pay their surcharges 24 hours a day / 7 days a week.
You must follow below steps to access Texas surcharge account or make payment online:
Before getting started, you must have below things:
- Internet connected Computer
- Current Texas Driver License or I.D. Card number
- Surcharge notice letter and Reference number
- Valid debit or credit card, or savings, checking or money market account for making payment
Step by step Instructions to access Texas surcharge account online:
- Visit www.txsurchargeonline.com and click on Online Services
- Enter either Texas Driver License or I.D. Card number or Department of Public Safety Assigned Number, and date of birth, last name as per driving license and 5 digit zip code in required fields.
- As soon as you enter all required details, hit ‘Login’ and access surcharge account information and make payments online.
Site takes 1 to 2 business days to post your payment receipt online and up to 5-7 days for updating driving record. If you make a surcharge payment through online service, it will send confirmation number or confirmation receipt after your transaction is complete. Driver can get the answers of questions regarding the reinstatement or status of their driving privileges or their driving history, by contacting at DPS Customer Service at 512-424-2600.
- Access surcharge account information
- Check status of surcharge account
- Pay surcharges online using valid credit or debit card
- Requires few important numbers, zip code and date of birth for accessing online services
- Drivers can make payment 24 hours a day / 7 days a week